The abridged history of the
United Republics
of Antarctica


Proclamation and diplomatic crisis

The United Republics of Antarctica was originally projected to become and organization which would succeed the Antarctic Micronational Union (or AMU), however it ended up forming into a micronation of its own.

Almost at the very start URA spiraled into a huge diplomatic crisis. On December 25th 2019 the Presidential Press Office published the Constitution of URA. Article 6 of the Constitution was phrased in a way that gave an impression that several Antarctic micronations fell under the jurisdiction of the URA.

On December 26th WestarcticaLostislandFlandrensis and Karnia-Ruthenia published the “Joint Statement of the Antarctic Micronational Community” condemning the actions of the URA and requesting diplomatic sanctions from the worldwide micronational community.

On the night of December 26-27th President Vasia Bratchuk gathered an urgent session of the Presidential Council which resulted in the amendment of the Constitution. Over the course of the following week internal measures were taken to prevent further misunderstanding including administrative actions towards certain URA government officials who were responsible for the contextually interpretative phrasing of the Constitution which lead to a serious threat to national security. In the first week of 2020 the President sent official letters to heads of the undersigned micronations of the “Joint statement” clearing up the misunderstanding that happened with the misphrasing of Article 6, emphasize the fact that URA did not and does not have any intentions to claim territory of any micronation without its voluntary consent and restating that URA fully recognizes the sovereignty of these micronations.

Microinternational acknowledgement

On January 16th 2020 Grand Duke Travis of Westarctica replied to the official letter from the President of URA stating that it would be great to move forward from the misunderstanding that happened and that URA “inspired the original members of the Antarctic Micronational Union (AMU) to come together again to create a new organization dedicated to preserving peace in Antarctica”. The United Republics of Antarctica have active diplomatic relations with the Federal Republic of New Potato Land, the Grand Republic of Cycoldia, the Empire of Zion and the Phoklandian Free State.

Territorial claims

On January 6th the “Treaty on voluntary accession and association of the Transantarctic Republic, the Coats Republic and the New Swabia Republic to the United Republics of Antarctica” has been signed and territorial boundaries have been proclaimed as can be seen on the map[3]. The treaty has been signed upon receiving requests for membership and joining the URA from the government heads of the Transantarctic, Coats and New Swabia republics (P.IshukovP.Scheelbeek and J.Crouch respectively) during the last weeks of 2019. The treaty among the main context contains the following excerpt:

The URA does not claim any current Antarctic bases located within this area as well as land within 50 km radiuses of such bases. Since The Republic of St. Charlie has been dissoluted in 2017, and "on 1 June 2019, Emosia, in order to pursue higher legitimacy, had relinquished all claims within the continent of Antarctica, due to seemingly fruitless task to enforce the claim." - the URA takes the right to claim the land which belonged to these micronations within the boundaries shown on the map above. The URA as a micronational entity makes this territorial claim believing (based on documented statements) that it does not intersect with any micronational claims of currently active Antarctic micronations made earlier than January 1st 2020 within these territorial boundaries. The URA does not have any intentions to claim territory of any micronation without its voluntary consent. The URA does not recognize any claims made by countries signees of the Antarctic Treaty as those claims do not signify de jure recognition.”